How to spot a toxic friend

We all met them at some point in our life. Toxic friends can be a bit hard to spot since they play the role of a friend. Through my experience with people, I learned some signs that indicate that a person is toxic and I need to get rid of them.

They like to put you down in front of other people

Nothing makes me angrier than a motherf$#!ing b!#% who thinks they are of some superior breed of homo sapiens and constantly tries to take jabs at you to appear stronger. That’s the biggest sign of insecurity and you should cut them off immediately.

They bring their problems into the table

Good friends share the good and the bad. But if your “friends” keep dragging you down with them with unnecessary problems and causing more trouble, you should reconsider the type of relationship you want with them.

They are freeloaders

“We’re friends, we help each other, right ?” Um, then why am I always the one giving and not getting s#%t when I need it ? Don’t get me wrong, I love helping people whenever I can, especially my friends. But I’m not the best to do it, I need help myself. So if they keep taking advantage of you without being considerate, let them go.

They don’t respect you rules, your conditions, etc.

This goes without saying. Friends should respect you as a person, and avoid offending you with their actions especially if you talked about it before.

They don’t respect your privacy

I wanted to talk about it separately because I had people tell others about some private things we talked about either because they would feel comfortable talking about them themselves OR they assumed that I wouldn’t mind it. A message for these a$$holes : Don’t assume. If it ain’t your dirty laundry, don’t hang it.

They know your weaknesses and problems and they criticize you with others

I’m a messy human with baggage and If I let you see my vulnerable side and talk about my problems, it’s because I trusted you. Don’t go around judging my actions and behavior with others when you know what’s going on inside.

They don’t practice what they preach, and they preach a lot

We’re all f#%ed up in our own ways. Some people give off an image of being pure and innocent when they are not. The thing is, nobody is pure and innocent, we just try to live our best lives and hurt no one. But the toxic friend must pretend, and that means they’re really f#%ed up.

They know it all

They have something to say about anything. They are sports critics, art critics, nutritionists, athletes, etc. You name it, they know it. And they know it well. There is no way you can disagree with them, because they know it all.

They’re arrogant

Maybe it’s just me, but I have a special hatred towards arrogance. I really hate people who feel or/and act superior to others even if it’s not to me. It’s just a sign from god to slowly get rid of them.

They don’t respect your privacy 2.0

I can’t stress this enough. If they go through your stuff, try to take a peek at your phone when you’re texting, try to know what you’re doing, who you’re talking to, who you like, etc. You need to get rid of them as soon as possible.

They belittle or disrespect your other friends

This happened to me and affected me more than I imagined. I have friends from different phases in my life and I love them all dearly. If your “friend” thinks you should put them first and disrespects your other friends you should know by now that they don’t care about you as much as they do about themselves.

A message to all toxic people in our lives, past, present and future : Fuck you & Fuck off.

One comment

Leave a comment