What My First Love Taught Me – Self Love 2020 : Day 4

Warmth

*Cue awkward intro*

Once upon a time, I experienced something commonly known as Love. I don’t really like talking about love because I feel like I don’t know anything. But, I felt like sharing some precious lessons I learned from that.

.Don’t let your fear of being let down stop you from the joy of being loved.

Showing vulnerability and opening to someone can be scary. It’s normal to have those feelings of doubt and fear because each one of us carry some baggage. But those feelings shouldn’t hold you back from diving into love and taking that leap of fate. If two people hold back from giving their all, the relationship would remain superficial, and your souls will never meet on a deeper level. And that would be a shame.

Warmth

No relationship can truly grow if you go on holding back. If you remain clever and go on safeguarding and protecting yourself, only personalities meet, and the essential centers remain alone. Then only your mask is related, not you. Whenever such a thing happens, there are four persons in the relationship, not two. Two false persons go on meeting, and the two real persons remain worlds apart.

@noablesse

.I am capable of loving and being loved.

After letting go of your fear, you’ll soon realize the beauty of love. Being able to feel these emotions is truly underrated, it’s a blessing. Being loved by someone else helped me with loving myself, because I could see myself through them instead of seeing it from my perspective of negativity and criticism. It helped me see that I’m awesome enough to attract someone in many ways and appreciate all my qualities a lot more.

Flesh on flesh

.Types are a myth.

Of course, we all have our “type” which is based on celebrities or movies or whatever we think attract us. Yeah, that’s cool and all but you’ll notice that that long list of requirements you have for your potential partner will be thrown out the window as soon as you connect deeply with a soul rather than sticking to the superficial.

Love begins with gaze

.Unconditional love exists.

At times, I get tired of my repeated bad behavior. I was sure that no one will love me if I don’t change. All the flaws get annoying at a certain time, but there are people who’ll love you regardless. When you find them, cherish them.

.Through love, you’ll learn a lot about yourself.

Undoubtedly, with more experience comes wisdom. But, the amount of new things I discovered about myself are quite shocking. I didn’t expect to see different sides of myself, how I react to things, what I value the most, my boundaries, etc. Being open to love unlocked so many doors I didn’t even know existed.

Love begins with gaze

.You can’t fight or avoid feelings.

Let me be cheesy for a minute (as if this whole article isn’t cheesy). You’ll know it when it’s there. You can ignore the signs, but you’ll constantly think about it. And it’s up to you to act on it, just saying.

.I’m not a burden.

Almost my whole life, I was not willing to even think about being with someone because it meant revealing everything. I didn’t want to share my problems and insecurities with anyone. It’s challenging at first. But with time, I realized that all the baggage I’m carrying with me doesn’t make me a burden or less worthy of love, it just makes me more human.

Touch your cheek

.I am worth fighting for.

Through that first experience, I really felt like a pain in the ass, a failure. But, those were my own negative feelings. On the other hand, I felt reassured that whatever that was in my head didn’t/doesn’t make me less worth fighting for. Find the person who loves you enough to fight for you even when you give up on yourself.

.Teamwork makes the dream work.

I see relationships like a game of tug of war. If on of you isn’t putting in work, you’ll both end up on the ground. It’s not about who should do something for who, it’s about understanding each other’s weaknesses and strengths, knowing the flaws and being more considerate towards each other.

Rainy day

.Demand what you want.

Don’t be afraid to say what you want, how you feel and how you want to be treated. Chances are, your partner would also want to know. Open and raw communication is crucial, it helps throw the bullshit out of the way. Don’t be a jerk though, people make mistake. Just make sure everything is clear.

Your scent

.It’s not perfect, but it’s everything you want.

Here you are, daydreaming about someone. They are perfect. Everything they do makes you happy, their smile, their voice, how they treat you, the way they understand. You can’t believe it, they’re so perfect. One day, you have a fight, about something trivial. You feel everything falling down, it’s ruined. This is not as perfect as you thought it would be. This doesn’t mean the end, though. This is real, it’s human. You’ll fight this together. At the end, it is perfect.


The amazing artwork is by none other than the talented queen @zipcy

Self Love 2020 : Day 4 – Valentine’s Day Special

Leave a comment